Family

#the100dayproject

  
I haven’t wrote a blog post in weeks, where on earth does the time go? How is it already the end of April?! I must say I’m loving the lighter nights and sunnier days. I’m definitely a summer person, the sunshine makes me so happy, I bask in it like a cat. I’m not sure what I’ve been up to really. It was my 4th wedding anniversary at the end of March and my daughter’s 3rd birthday. I made her a frozen (standard) birthday cake and I well and truly impressed myself. My friend Ruth (a cake decorating connoisseur) was on hand to guide me through all things cake related and lend me all essential equipment, but I did it myself from scratch. It took me 5 long hours and I can’t tell you how much mess I made in the process.  

 I didn’t make the figures by the way- they’re plastic. I sent a picture of the cake to my friend Jenna who seemed slightly disappointed I hadn’t sculpted the figures myself, as if I was some sort of sugarcraft goddess. 

We went away to the hotel du vin for our anniversary weekend. Oh. My. Gosh. What a treat that was. A much needed fun filled weekend away alone. It reminded me so much of our care free days before the children. The only worry we had back then was where we would go out to eat or what film to watch! Now I worry about helicopters landing on the house and road signs falling on the kiddies as we walk underneath. Oh the worries of an anxious mother are endless. 

But something that has kept me occupied, and will do for the foreseeable future, is the 100 day project I’m taking part in on Instagram. 100 days of doodling, painting, photographs, knitting or whatever it is you do. I’m doing 100 days of watercolours. It’s been so much fun and it’s filled the lonely void at night whilst my husband is away and the children are sleeping. This picture was to celebrate our lovely Queen turning 90.  

 
So if you’re on Instagram, give me a follow (@pineapplelobster). I promise it will be a colourful, pretty sparkly adventure. I hope to keep some to make into prints for some stationery ideas I’ve had. Watch this space…

2 thoughts on “#the100dayproject

Leave a comment